• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 tricktek

tricktek

Mycophage

• Free Member
  • 157 posts

Posted 04 December 2006 - 06:10 PM

I have been dreaming an idea for several years now that may prove interesting. I own a Champion carrot juicer and am considering juicing sclerotia from Mexicana A, that is, when I get some petri plates of it grown out. The implications are many fold, such as, if nothing else, I will have taken the majority of the H2O out of the sclerotia, making it easier to dehydrate. At this point I will have a jug of the liquid and a bucket of the much dryer product. I don't know which one of the two would be "active". Does anybody know the answer to this? Which ever one it is (prolly the solid leftover) I would try extractions or tea with. Ultimately I would like to potentiate my final product either through doing extractions or by nutritional means while still growing. I have in the past encapsulated dry blended sclerotia with mediocre results, ie, my cubies have always been more potent. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. tricktek :pirate:

#2 TVCasualty

TVCasualty

Embrace Your Damage

• 14,651 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 04 December 2006 - 08:06 PM

Seems to me there might well be some activity to the juice. I'd definitely try both.

Since potency usually decreases with drying, and sclerotia are so dense, it seems like drying them would decrease their potency (potentially). They are already very dense, so after drying the superficial moisture off 'em I've just put them in the fridge at that point. They've never lasted long enough for me to see them exhibit any sign of rotting (they get eaten of course), so why not just keep them as is? (Especially on petri plates; there won't be very much mass to deal with, and I'd think you'd want to hold on to as much potency as possible...) Now, if you're trying to test the concept, that's different- give it a go and let us know!

#3 shobimono

shobimono

Chat Admin