• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 purplehaze

purplehaze

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 29 posts

Posted 05 February 2007 - 08:35 PM

I started 4 Mycobags on Jan. 11. It took them about 1.5-2 weeks to Germinate, and slowly I started seeing mycellium show up. Upon reaching about 50% Colonized I kneeded them, they eached reached this point at different paces. When I say I kneeded them I mean really mixed the shit out of them, some of them had the verm layer on top missplaced throughout the cake accidently. I just wanted to make sure they were mixed well since the back of the bags werent colonizing much. Here I am on Feb 5, almost a month later, only one bag seams to be close to fully colonized ( 80-90%) and some of the bags still seam to be at around 50%. The bag that's mostly colonized has fluffy mycellium on top that looks like it might be forming knots or start pinning soon... but Im a newb so Im not completely sure. someone told me it seamed my caked were a bit dry so I sterlized a syringe and injected approx. 3 cc's into each bag, but now Im seeing some condensation in the bottem of the bag and it's causing me to worry. Im wondering if I should kneed the bag that's at about 90% once again to see if I can get it to fully colonize, or if I should just leave it since I think it may pin soon. I know that while a cake is still colonizing it can take some nutes/energy away from the pins, but right now Im just trying to get whatever I can out of my bags before I have to move and... sadly enough toss them out. Anyway, any suggestions on the matter would be very much appreciated, thankyou for your time. :)

Oh, also, is fluffy looking mycellium a good thing, when the rest of the bag is kindof ropey. BTW the bags appear to be composed of WBS, there may be other ingrediants, I ordered them from sporeworks, the strain is PES Hawaiian. And unfortunately I have no available camera :(

#2 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts