• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 smegma

smegma

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 484 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:13 PM

Do the cheap ones that are a metal probe with a plastic meter work?

Example:

Posted Image

#2 cutty

cutty

Gone Fishin'

• Expired Member
  • 1,654 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:17 PM

Do the cheap ones that are a metal probe with a plastic meter work?

Example:

Posted Image

Excellent Q I just bought one exactly like that and I have no clue how to use it...I was told they work but I have no experience using it yet.

#3 smegma

smegma

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 484 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:22 PM

Excellent Q I just bought one exactly like that and I have no clue how to use it...I was told they work but I have no experience using it yet.

I really want to know if it is at all accurate.

IME hygrometers are ALL OVER THE MAP and was wondering if the same was true of my new POS PH meter.

Mine also supposedly measures "wetness" and light. All for $7... Yeah, I bet.

I have 3 VERY different hygrometers, cheap, moderate and expensive. Sitting RIGHT NEXT TO EACHOTHER they read currently: 72%, 88%, 100%.

So I generally just average. :)

#4 nomoreusmc

nomoreusmc

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 940 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:49 PM

I wonder which one is correct? but avarging is probibly the best way to do it in that circumstance

#5 vp7

vp7

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 98 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:56 PM

i have one of those.(similar) actually just used the thing like 10 mins. ago. I never actually checked the accuracy against ph paper or anything, but it seems to work well. you have to let the thing sit in your material for several minutes to get an accurate reading. it may not be a perfect measure, but it sure beats guessing.

#6 smegma

smegma

Mycotopiate

• Free Member
  • 484 posts

Posted 08 March 2005 - 04:03 PM