#1 hyphaenation

hyphaenation

Former Staff

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 13,759 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 March 2007 - 10:40 AM

This is my first attempt at woodlovers. I soaked the alder chips for 24 hours drained and then pasturized in a pillowcase at 155 degrees F for 1 hour. Rinsed well and drained then stuffed into clean food-savers bag fitted with pollyfill filters.The tape in the bottom right corner is where I put tape over the water drain hole (to remove excess moisture)

The LC is my second attempt. First try was ruined by lack of air I believe and mabye carmelized sugars. This time I used a brand new distilled water bottle. I poured the contents into another clean bottle. To 1000 mils of distilled water I added 5 teaspoons of Karo and 2 teaspoon Light Malt Powder for a total of 7 teaspoons sugars to 1000 mils water. Next I shook up this mixture with the cap on and then poured it through a coffee filter in a funnel back into the original bottle. I put a pollyfill cap with a large hole in the bottle cap. I added 2 clean marbles.

I can't really shake the bottle with the pollyfill lid on so when I want to shake it I take it into the glovebox and replace the polly lid with the orginal cap, shake, then replace the polyfill lid.

I have the bag and the LC bottle on the floor where the tempsa are about 73 ish. I have read that P. Cyans needs cooler temps through inncubation. Does this sound right??? Anyone ??

Attached Thumbnails

• cyan.JPG

#2 Mycorama

Mycorama

Fungitarian

• Expired Member
  • 640 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 01:24 PM

yes you will need much lower tempatures to inncubate or fruit cyans or azures.
more like 50ish degrees then 70.

you didnt need to pasturize the woodchips either, but i dont think it will hurt.
keep the pics coming, il be stoppin in to check em out.

#3 golly

golly

modapotato

• Expired Member
  • 6,205 posts

Posted 24 March 2007 - 02:18 PM