Making My 1st Beer

• Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#1 SharkieJones

SharkieJones

• Expired Member
  • 3,252 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 10:17 AM

Anyone here make beer? I started brewing my 1st batch of beer last night. It was a nightmare, my kitchen had various utensils strewn about and the coolong process didn't go as planned. I was left with the feeling that if this works It will be a miracle.:)
I took a few pictures of the process. One picture is of the boiling wort (malt extract).
Other pic is of the hops in pellet form. Hops really smell like bud.

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_0111.JPG
  • IMG_0112.JPG

#2 TVCasualty

TVCasualty

Embrace Your Damage

• OG VIP
  • 10,794 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 27 March 2007 - 10:38 AM

I'm working on getting into brewing myself. A friend of mine in the town I live in has hired a professional brewer (with a degree in beer brewing from UC Davis!) to help him open a brewpub, which has been his dream for 30 years. I'll be doing some of the carpentry for the pub, among other things.

This means that within a few months, I'll be able to ask an expert with over 15 years of professional brewing experience anything I need to know. Likewise, I'd be happy to relay any questions anyone else has to the Brewmeister.

One thing I've already learned is that for consistent beer, that is consistency among different batches, you need to maintain your own yeast culture. This isn't so important for a hobby homebrewer (variety is usually more interesting) but I immediately realized how some of the mushroom growing technology might be useful for this... like a modified LC for beer yeast for example, or using a laminar flow bench for certain steps, etc.

Hope yours turns out drinkable!

#3 strangegem23

strangegem23

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 205 posts

Posted 27 March 2007 - 10:40 AM

Hey Sharkie-