• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 white_rabbit3

white_rabbit3

Former Member

• Banned Member
  • 60 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 11:05 AM

I've been growing for a couple of years now I've never isolated a strain.
I'm curious to what some of you look for, to determine a good candidate to isolate or clone.
Also like to know the pitfalls to be expected and what tek every one prefers to clone with

#2 Guest_Glasshopper_*

Guest_Glasshopper_*

Posted 23 April 2007 - 11:45 AM

You want to pick the fastest growing, biggest & of course most potent.
A common clone tek here is liquid culture.

Take a piece of the inside of the stem, drop it into h2o2 for a couple of seconds and then drop it into your presterilized jar of karo water. 1 teaspoon of karo to 100 ml of water.

Edited by Sidestreet, 20 August 2015 - 08:49 AM.
removed bad links

#3 Freaky

Freaky

Head Editor

• Expired Member
  • 12,219 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 01:24 PM

You can clone to isolate, like stated above.

Or use agar to isolate many substrains, fruit them all, and then see which isolate you like best.

Cloning is going to be much quicker of a process, many less steps, and no agar work needed.

I however, have found that not all clones act like a true isolate.

If I truly want to isolate, I work it on agar, and fruit those isolations to see if I get what I like. If not, I start again. Its tedious, but fun, imo at least :)

#4 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 04:05 PM

start here-

[broken link]

Edited by Sidestreet, 20 August 2015 - 08:50 AM.
removed broken link

#5 white_rabbit3

white_rabbit3

Former Member

• Banned Member
  • 60 posts

Posted 24 April 2007 - 09:05 AM

OK, Cool stuff.... thank you, I needed that. Now if I was to start with a selected shroom to isolate from using any of the manners above, and I'm selecting from fruited multispore tray, how would one select a clone to isolate.