• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 celticdragon

celticdragon

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 42 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 07:49 AM

This is my first attempt at a grow log so please be patient. This is an awsome community - and a big thanks to all of you who share your experiences to make mine a possibility. Im not sure If I have done pictures correctly - still playing around with this function!
FOAF prepared 9 x 250ml plastic jars with air filter lids that he found from a UK lab supplier at £15 for 20. Finding appropriate jars is difficult over here!! He found a pressure cooker, two glass aquariums, two air pumps, a coffee grinder some poly fill, silicone sealant and some home brewing disinfectant; all for FREE from freecycle.org - Freecycle is an amazing forum for findin all kinds of "unwanted" goods in the community!
He followed the classic PF Tek using Organic Brown rice from a local health food store ground to flour in the coffee grinder and J Arthur Bowers Horticultural Grade Vermiculite which He got from the local B&Q (£5 for 100L).
He taped the holes, wrapped the tops in a double layer of foil then Pressure cooked for 30 mins, at 15psi. He had to do this in 2 batches as his PC is not so big. After allowing to cool to room temp he innoculated with a MexiPAL 12ml spore syringe on 04/21
He removed tape and incubated in an airing cupboard on a cardboard sheet to insulate from the HW cylinder at between 75 and 83F. He saw first growth in the after 2 1/2 days (04/23). and after 9 days three of the jars were at about this stage and the rest at various stages behind.

It is now 3 weeks and 1 day after innoculation and I have three jars that are nearly fully colonised. I am getting ready to birth them and have a few questions before I do.

Attached Thumbnails

• 9days.jpg
  • full3.jpg
  • PrePC1.jpg

#2 celticdragon

celticdragon

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 42 posts

Posted 13 May 2007 - 08:02 AM