• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 LocoH

LocoH

The Sage

• Expired Member
  • 317 posts

Posted 17 December 2007 - 10:20 AM

Okay, so I know its not unusual to experiment with TEKs, invent your own, or just roll with what works best for you. Well in this case I have found the Sandbag TEK ( ALL credit to Sandman for this ) to be my cup of tea.

Rolling with his ideas, I have been playing around with it for a few months. I have done two dozen sandbags, different ways, with varying results. Here is what I am currently doing, which has produced far greater results than any other method thus far while still staying inside a sandbag and neglecting it for a long time.

Basically, you start off with your sandbag of choice. Mine are 12x10x24 gusseted polybags. Add a container, which here I have been using 11x12 aluminum pans. You wrap the inside of the pan in a bag of some sort. The pan itself will reduce side and bottom pinning, which have been my greatest nuisances while using this TEK. The bag just helps to keep the pan from being ruined for future use.
Posted Image

You then place this into your sandbag firmly on the bottom. If you ever decide to mist your bag for any reason, RH, this will also allow the water to collect underneath the pan eliminating the risk of over soaking your sub. I do mist occasionally between flushes.

I then pull out my already prepared spawn. In this case it was an isolate of Arg, on a popcorn G2G. I spawned 1 pint of Arg, and then transferred into a container like(5 pints of popcorn already pasteurized) this with 4 holes stuffed with Polyfil. Allowed to fully colonize. Total time for this was about 5 days.
Posted Image