• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 elainefaerie

elainefaerie

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 31 posts

Posted 04 January 2008 - 04:00 PM

OK, so it's my first attempt at growing, and I probably chose a more complicated method than is recommended for a beginner, but that's just me. I'm a little concerned about the way it's looking after the PC, and wanted to ask a few questions..

First, the bird seed I used did had milo, millet, cracked corn and black sunflower seeds. I pulled out the sunflower seeds, but is the cracked corn going to present a problem? My mixture seems kind of starchy and is sticking together more than it looks like it should.

Second, and this may be the problem more than the cracked corn, is after I put them in for a soak, I took a brief trip to the hospital, and so did not get to re-rinse, put into jars, and PC for two and a half days -- perhaps they got too hydrated?

They're cooling now, but I don't want to innoculate bad jars -- any insight? Should I just start over? Thanks in advance for the quick replies! -e

Attached Thumbnails

• wbs pic.jpg
  • wbs pic 2.jpg

#2 greenweanie

greenweanie

Post Whore Extraordinaire

• Expired Member
  • 469 posts

Posted 04 January 2008 - 04:08 PM

shake them so the moist bottom seeds are mixed with the more dry top seeds. then nocc it up ;)

#3 prism

prism

VIP Member

• Expired Member
  • 5,943 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 04 January 2008 - 04:18 PM

IMO

those look wrong.

I would prolly knock em up anyway, but in the future you want to see no smooshed wet seeds at all. Just good hydrated WBS with no moisture in the bottom. Sorry to be a pain in the ass, but jars that look like that never seem to colonize for me.

Others may disagree.

Gluck!

Attached Thumbnails

• DSC01345.JPG

#4 kjeeks

kjeeks

stranger with candy

• Expired Member
  • 77 posts

Posted 04 January 2008 - 04:22 PM