• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Triptolemus

Triptolemus

Revivalist

• Expired Member
  • 66 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 06:34 AM

6 days ago I knocked up a jar of organic rye berries from a local health food supplier. This is my first attempt with rye.
I began with a 24 hour soak in water, rinsed and cleaned afterwards (perhaps to much?)
I then boiled the rye for some 20 minutes (to much?) as I got caught up on the phone and left it boiling away.
After this I drained the rye and let the excess evaporate for a while before placing into the jar with a silicone injection port and polyfill FAE on the lid. At this point I was supicious as to wether or not I had let the berries get to soft...err cooked. They aren't mushy or soggy but are quite soft to the touch and squish very easily between my fingers.
I then placed it into the PC for 60 minutes at 13 psi (the maximum of my pc). Upon completion IMHO the berries appeared too bulging and many had popped.
Upon cooling the following morning I innoculated the rye with 2ml of spores from a flame sterilized syringe and mixed up the rye inside a bit by rolling the jar.
Four days later there was already the first signs of mycelia growth but on the fifth day there was a clear contamination from Trichoderma.
The first spot appeared just below the injection port on the surface so I began to speculate that perhaps the port had not sealed properly and thus allowed the contam to enter and fall directly to the surface below the port. However, on day six I could see green spots appearing in three other locations on the sides of the jar as well and well isolated from the original location. Upon emptying the jar the contam was also beginning to show inside the rye also, not just on the sides and top...now, I am doubtful as to the cause of this contamination.
1. The injection port or polyfill filter were not properly sealed?
2. The syringe was contaminated?
3. Not sterilized thoroughly and cooked to much?