• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 Cafro

Cafro

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 86 posts

Posted 04 January 2006 - 03:56 PM

are woodchips a suitable casing layer for outdoor beds of cubensis mycilia?

if so are the woodchips soaked in water to hydrate
before being used? or simply used right out
of the bag.

also, could somone please reccomend a "type" of woodchip

peace

#2 Togaebi

Togaebi

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2006 - 04:02 PM

I'm a newbie here, so please correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems that woodchips might be too nutritious to use as a casing layer. 50/50 peat/verm with some lime to balance pH seems to be popular for terrariums, but I'm not sure about outdoor growing.

Good Luck!
~Togaebi

#3 Guest_dial8_*

Guest_dial8_*

Posted 04 January 2006 - 04:27 PM

Don't use wood chips for cubes. Although they can colonize and utilize wood to an extent it is not the best for cubes. You can go the peat/verm route or you can simply lay straw on top of them to a depth of about an inch or so. I would cut the straw up into 1-3 inch peices, soak it, drain it, and apply. No need to pc the straw for an outdoor bed.

#4 Cafro

Cafro

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 86 posts

Posted 04 January 2006 - 04:38 PM

what would you think of just using cardboard
as a bottom layer? instead of crumbled cakes or grains.

would this colonize the straw efficiently?
i have heard some negative comments
and some positive comments
concerning the topic.

thanks for the quick reply dial8:headbang:

#5 Guest_dial8_*

Guest_dial8_*

Posted 04 January 2006 - 04:41 PM

Depending on the depth of your substrate one layer on the bootom may not suffice but if you had multiple layers or you could cut the colonized cardboard up and thoroughly mix it with your straw.
Now we are talking about cubensis and not a wood loving species, right?

#6 Cafro

Cafro

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 86 posts

Posted 04 January 2006 - 04:49 PM