• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 chrisandstepheny

chrisandstepheny

fungtastic duo

• Expired Member
  • 275 posts

Posted 09 August 2008 - 09:47 AM

I am pretty new to mushroom cultivation. So, I wanted to see what all the other cultivators here had to say about this jar.
I am following a detailed plan right now. This is just a side project to that.
What I am about to show you is a mycelium culture on a agar substitute in the bottom of a half pint jar. It is a test jar for a LC. The strain is Z from a syringe.
What happened is, I was following my plan and testing my LC(2 strains 2 jars each with 1cc of LC each) on an agar substitute(basically powdered long grain brown rice and water pressure cooked into a little cake.) Then a couple days after I inoculated I left town for a couple weeks. While I was away my husband noticed that the agars were not colonizing with anything. So, he reinoculated one jar each of the two strains. The Z took off and the other strain contaminated. BTW, the other 2 jars eventually colonized with myc.
What we have been doing is opening up the jar a few times a day, keeping the myc hydrated, and exposing it to light to see if it will pin. As far as I can tell the jar has looked about the same as in the pictures as it did about a week ago when I got home.
What is everyones thoughts? I think the myc looks really cool and it would be even cooler if I could have a sample of shrooms before my main project is producing.

Attached Thumbnails

• 001.jpg
  • 025.jpg
  • 024.jpg
  • 022.jpg

#2 BuckarooBanzai

BuckarooBanzai

The Abe Vigoda of Mycotopia

• 8,968 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 09 August 2008 - 10:04 AM

It might pin, if it stays contam free. You won't need to hydrate/add fresh air. It takes a while, but I've agar Petri dishes sealed with parafilm pin.

But ya won't get too much!

#3 Cardboard

Cardboard

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 22 posts

Posted 09 August 2008 - 11:10 AM