• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 kam

kam

Mycomath & fungal physics

• Free Member
  • 147 posts

Posted 02 May 2005 - 06:54 PM

I just inoculated two jars with PF classic spores. One was a pint (not wide-mouth), prepared as per DukeX's Long Grain Rice Tutorial, except with short grain brown rice, a tsp. of ground flaxseed and 1/2 tsp. of nutritional yeast. The other jar was a half-pint, prepared like a normal PF jar and containing the same kind of rice, only ground.

My only worries are that:
1. The moisture content of the pint jar is screwed. It just looks wet, but I guess its no different from the pics in the tutorial.
2. The rice in the PF jar wasn't ground enough to work properly. It still had some small chunks in it because I only used a blender.
I doubt either of these concerns will cause much of a problem.

I will update with progress reports on both of these jars. I am not very experienced, but this will be an invitro grow, so I doubt I can screw up much. I really like the whole grain rice technique, because it's just so easy to prepare the jars. Hopefully this will convince me that it's the way to go.

Take a look at the pics, but I warn you, the camera is nothing special.

Peace.

Attached Thumbnails

• im000539.jpg

#2 destroy_erase_improve

destroy_erase_improve

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 2,167 posts

Posted 02 May 2005 - 07:39 PM

its gonna be fun to watch the comparison, although some feel that widemouth jars colonize faster than the taller ones.

#3 dukex

dukex

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 583 posts

Posted 03 May 2005 - 08:10 AM

Its hard to tell from the pics but the rice doesnt look that wet to me. I think the colonization will be comparable. I have some going also I will probably start another thread keep a lookout for it.

Looking forward to your updates :)

Peace...

#4 Lazlo

Lazlo

old hand

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 7,620 posts

Posted 03 May 2005 - 12:17 PM

Ding, Ding!

#5 kam

kam

• Free Member