40 replies to this topic

#1 itch

itch

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 05:18 PM

Hi..
I'm a newbie and i'm planing to make a pos.press. glovebox. I think that i will not be able to find a HEPA filter in my country, so i'm looking for an alternative..

The plan is in the attachment..Attention:hi res pic:D

So, will that work?? I think it should filter dust and also kill 99.99% of bacteria&stuff..or not:confused:

What solution would give the best result?? Bleach+water, etanol, isopropyl, hidrogen peroxide, some acid or maybe to mix them all together?;)

An alternative to that? (except no fan box)

bye

Attached Thumbnails

• glovebox.gif

#2 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 05:20 PM

you'd be far better off with a still-air glovebox
you not only need HEPA filter but the airflow must be
laminar,
which your design is not.
  • Earthling likes this

#3 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 05:20 PM

laminar flow =http://hyperphysics....base/pfric.html

#4 Guest_dial8_*

Guest_dial8_*

Posted 11 October 2005 - 05:59 PM

Still air gb'swork great. Just clean the inside and spray with a strerilizer and walla....a clean room for your inoculations. Just be sure that you clean all your instruments and load them all into the box before you spray your final sterilizing mist and close the lid. I would not reccomend lysol for sterilizing because it is a fire hazard and you will prolly have a flame in there to sterilize your needle. If youdo use lysol let it settle for at least 20 minutes before you light a flame.

#5 itch

itch

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 06:37 PM

How do i get a laminar airflow??