• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 mwillis71

mwillis71

funkybuttlover

• Expired Member
  • 182 posts

Posted 07 March 2009 - 12:19 PM

Ok, I really want to start a garden this year but I have never done it before. My grandfather used to have the nicest garden and the most delicious vegetables! Unfortunately he passed a couple years ago and I never got around to asking him the tools of the trade. Can some of you green thumbed individuals point me towards a good starter book or just give me some good tips. I will be creating this garden in the heartland region of our fine nation. :bow:

#2 Cerebral Cortex

Cerebral Cortex

Rogue Scientist

• Expired Member
  • 65 posts

Posted 07 March 2009 - 01:39 PM

I do all mine in containers....Alot less to worry about....
http://www.gardeners...default,pd.html
I have four these and adding six more this year...
Pick up the book Incredible Vegetables from Self-Watering Containers

#3 rocketman

rocketman

Mycotopiate

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 4,602 posts

Donator

Posted 07 March 2009 - 02:09 PM

Depends what you want. Most folks, myself included just use a set amount of space.

An important point to remember about gardens is you will always have extra food to give away as you wont be able to keep up with a decent sized one by yourself. A garden, even a small one can be a lot of work.

1. pick a site and think about how large you need the garden to be

2. If you are going to churn up a decent amount of ground you may want to
either rent, or consider purchasing a gas powered tiller. The rear tine tiller
is superior to the front tine type due to the ease of use. I always used a
front tine tiller and it was a good workout for a 1/4 acre garden, but I
was in good shape then lol.

3. Get a garden hoe and a rake. You may need other tools if you have to
do extra site prep like dig roots etc. use the rake to remove any rocks or
larger dirt clods. Their shouldnt be many if you ran over the ground a