• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Gamera

Gamera

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 331 posts

Posted 14 December 2005 - 04:06 PM

I'd like to offer my advice to Mycotopiates, since its probably the one area where I have something somewhat useful to contribute.

First of all, I am an attorney. I don't practice criminal law but I take an interest in it. I have several acquaintances that do practice criminal law, both as criminal defense attorneys and as District Attorneys. I even have a close friend who works for the Department of Justice prosecuting mainly federal drug offenses. So I have a fairly good understanding of the criminal justice system, although its certainly far from comprehensive.

I offer a few tips on staying out of trouble and minimizing the trouble you may find yourself in.

First and foremost, growing mushrooms is illegal. Whatever your feelings on this, thats the situation and the starting point. What this means in practical terms is that you need to make this hobby as low profile as you can make it. Tell as few people as you can possibly manage. Don't tell your friends, don't tell your family, don't your roommates, don't tell anyone. Most busts occur because a grower gets turned in - someone tips off the cops, usually to save their own skin. Then the cops get an "informant warrant." These busts happen because they are easy for law enforcement. Some jerk gets pulled over for speeding, he's obviously high, he's arrested and his car gets searched, and a small amount of drugs found. They threaten him with a felony unless he tells them where he got them, which he does. Based on that, the cops get a search warrant, enter, search and find a grow. Easy bust for the cops, nice and neat. This is the main situation you want to avoid. Don't imagine for a second anyone is going to take the prison time rather than roll on you. Maybe your Mom, but no one else including your Dad.