• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 masteramyx

masteramyx

Mycophage

• Expired Member
  • 159 posts

Posted 27 October 2009 - 08:44 PM

So this is my first time brewing and im preparing to make cider. Only question i really have is how long do i need to let it sit in the primary fermenter and then how long in the secondary. before i bottle and let it carbonate

#2 abaca

abaca

jerk of all trades

• Expired Member
  • 439 posts

Posted 27 October 2009 - 10:25 PM

The more alcohol in a brew the longer it can be aged, in secondary or bottle. Many brews don't use a secondary fermentation. Instead fermentation is allowed to complete in primary and then bottled. There are twoadvantages to this, less oxygen is exposed to the brew and less is lost to the dregs. This work well for brews in the 3-6% abv brews, I've even done it with a 8.5% IPA. Unless you are adding more sugar to your cider you'll probably be in the 3-5% range. It should take 2-3 weeks to complete fermentation. It's kind or a visual thing. There should be no bubbles escaping through the air lock and the yeast from the surface has broken up and sunk to the bottom. However if you plan on a secondary, I consider primary fermentation done when I get 2-6 bubbles a minute through the airlock. This usually takes 4-8 days. Rack and allow to complete as stated above and then bottle. If you are planning on an extended aging period, rack at 1 month then every three months untill you bottle.

#3 MooNChilD

MooNChilD

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 317 posts

Posted 28 October 2009 - 11:32 PM

I've made HARD cider that was 10% I bottled it in 8oz coke bottles and after drinking 3.2 Beer all day with barely a buzz then just two bottles of my hard cider and wham they hit the floor! One guy face planted my fridge and then hit the floor !

#4 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 29 October 2009 - 07:54 PM

:lol:

#5 waylitjim

waylitjim

A Mirror Image