Papa Smurf

• Expired Member
  • 798 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 08:29 PM

I started studying Aquaponics after reading this thread:

http://mycotopia.net...aquaponics.html

and referenced it back to an earlier thread by hippie:

http://mycotopia.net...el-reprint.html

As usual, I was extremely interested but too broke to do anything until a friend called me out of the blue one day and says "You want that aquarium I got?"

Seems the boys were bored of it and the old lady was tired of feeding the fish and cleaning the damn thing, so I found myself the proud owner of a 20 gallon aquarium full of rocks and glass thingy's and about 3 gallons of water, the bubble stone, the pump, and a jar with two fish!

Damn, knowing there was enough beneficial bacteria on the rocks and in the filter so that I might not have to cycle it again, I proceeded to clean it and put the two poor fish in their new home.

I was careful to not clean the rocks and save that two gallons of water, as well as not cleaning the filter, all in hopes of not losing the beneficial bacteria until I could stabilize the system. I warmed the fresh water to 70 degrees and tossed everybody in there.
Well, everybody lived and this is where I'm at now...

http://mycotopia.net...88&d=1270603507

http://mycotopia.net...89&d=1270603507

Attached Thumbnails

• AquaponicsStage1 002.JPG
  • AquaponicsStage1 001.JPG

Edited by shroom57, 06 April 2010 - 08:30 PM.
Damn preview keeps stripping out linebreaks!

• usagolden and Psoulocybe like this

#2 Erkee

Erkee

Trolls'R'us

• Expired Member
  • 1,477 posts

Posted 06 April 2010 - 08:44 PM

:bow:
Nice!
Beautiful.

#3 Guest_TaterBoard_*

Guest_TaterBoard_*

Posted 06 April 2010 - 09:09 PM

nice keeps us updated im planning something similar in the near future...
  • morfin-56 likes this

#4 waylitjim

waylitjim

A Mirror Image

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 4,706 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 06 April 2010 - 10:02 PM

:cool:

#5 usagolden

usagolden

A Tin Can Banana

• OG VIP