• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 iamsmiley

iamsmiley

the ice woman

• Expired Member
  • 1,766 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 10:43 AM

i have been working on perfecting my auto tray set up for several years now,tweaking it to make it just perfect.now its ready to unveil.i start off with 4 pencil size holes one in each corner for drainage of water.i put my tray tilted with a 2" by2" block on one end and sit it on a coke tray to keep it off the cold floor.i cut a hole in my lid for more filtered air flow to keep the humidity from getting to high.for a filter i use blue shop towels(i put them on my box with masking tape),they are like cloth and are disposable and relatively cheap but don't fall apart.i then put a small hole for my airline to go in(sometimes i use 2 airlines,the jury is still out which i like best but 1 will do).next i cut down a gallon milk jug and put it under the other coke tray in the fruiting chamber,thats were the air line goes.i fill the milk jug once a week usually with water and throw a good handful of salt in it when i set the fruiting chamber up.i also throw salt in the bottom of the fruiting tray as well to prevent bacteria from growing.*salt is very important to this tek* course salt is prefered as i think it stays in the bottom of the tray best.next the cakes go in.i case very lightly with vermiculite(you should still see a little white mycelium poking through-to much is bad)that i have boiled for 1 hr. to make sure its clean.i plug in my fish pump and a week later it pins and fruits with no help needed.i do find if i get a real bumper crop of mushies i still have to open the tray a half inch or they can get a little to wet.its pretty humid at my place(cookies and crackers get soft and gross if left out) so if you live in a dry climate you may not need to open the lid a little for your bumper crop.thats all i can think of about it for now with my honey oiled brain but its pretty simple.i knew when i got it figured o