• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 lyqwyd

lyqwyd

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 658 posts

Posted 02 April 2006 - 11:41 AM

a few days ago popcorn quarts from a vendor here were innoculated using clean LC from the same vendor. Texan was the strain. Now a blue-green tinge can be observed, not trichy/moldy, on localized areas of the popcorn, along with minute white dots in the same areas. this was obviously introduced through innoculation, but the needle and innoc port were flamed (not the innoc port) and wiped with rubbing alcohol before and after each innoculation. I've never used popcorn before, could this be a sign of the myc. entering into the popcorn, or am i screwed? unforntunatly no digicam other than crappy cell fone.

#2 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 02 April 2006 - 11:43 AM

how many days in ?
temp ?
what air exchange system ?

#3 lyqwyd

lyqwyd

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 658 posts

Posted 02 April 2006 - 11:55 AM

3days, 80*, 1" holes in lids with thick filters underneath.

#4 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 02 April 2006 - 11:59 AM

since you used tissue
might be it bluing from stress

#5 lyqwyd

lyqwyd

Mycotopiate

• Expired Member
  • 658 posts

Posted 02 April 2006 - 12:04 PM

hrm... could be. the popcorn itself is blue on the outer seed coat and on the kernel inside. it does look very similar in hue to mushie bluing tho. just gonna wait it out, hopefully a forest of contams won't ensue. thnx hip

#6 Hippie3

Hippie3

DUNG DEALER

• Founders
  • 40,642 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 08:51 AM

how's it looking now ?

#7 malefacter

malefacter

:P

• Expired Member
  • 1,047 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 08:59 AM

got anny pics? sorry scratch that

#8 malefacter

malefacter

:P

• Expired Member
  • 1,047 posts

Posted 06 May 2006 - 06:49 AM

a foaf was trying to isolate using this method

http://mycotopia.net...s/5/147159.html