• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 EstimatedProphet

EstimatedProphet

Bearer of Light

• Expired Member
  • 2,440 posts

Posted 27 June 2012 - 07:59 AM

I am curious what would you bring if you were going into the woods for a long time. I have been considering this for 4 years, please serious answers only.

Getting food would be my biggest issue, I have several fishing reels I could take and make a cane pole or just use the line from the reel. Winter would be the hardest I think, although it doesn't get to cold here in SE, USA. Any ideas on the best types of traps for small game would be the best?

Boiling water works, staying near a water source is key for trapping game, fishing, and having drinking water.
  • tenkam likes this

#2 TVCasualty

TVCasualty

Embrace Your Damage

• OG VIP
  • 10,841 posts

Awards Bar:

Posted 27 June 2012 - 08:59 AM

I'd bring refrigeration, hot showers, bug repellent, a sting extractor kit, fine-point tweezers, and antibiotics (all of which you will definitely need, probably the first day). You especially need all those things (and more) if you're going to try it in the Southeast where I myself lived in the woods (SE Tennessee) with no electricity or indoor plumbing for about 6 years, so I'm speaking from experience and I didn't even live directly "in" the woods after the first year. Bring lots of sturdy tarps and several spools of poly bailing twine (the cheapest, most useful item we brought with us BY FAR, allowing us to build structures from lashed saplings and lashes did not rot plus 5000 feet of it was only $10 back when I was doing this and we went through 4 spools in 3 years). At the very least, be sure you can tie a bowline, sheet bend, trucker's hitch, taut-line hitch, clove hitch, and know basic pole-lashing techniques. Don't forget to pack a Woodman's Pal (a multi-tool machete) and a nice hand-axe is useful too.