• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 trippinvegan

trippinvegan

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 31 posts

Posted 05 February 2005 - 12:29 AM

sorry to be asking another question. im just new to casing.
i tried to find the answer to this but i couldn't. ive read what overlay is. but im still a little confused. what exactly should a good casing look like when about to fruit. should the casing be fully colonized on top? if so, then how is this different from overlay. does it have to do with the type of mycelium.
sorry again.

(Message edited by trippinvegan on February 05, 2005)

#2 Guest_taoist_*

Guest_taoist_*

Posted 05 February 2005 - 09:55 AM

Overlay is any time a contam takes hold of your casing material, be it verm, coir, peat, whatever - I think the term layover comes from how it looks; when mycelium of your mushrooms grows through the casing it looks like its growing from underneath (which it is) where as the contams tend to come from the air or casing material itself and will start from the top of the case closest to the air, "overlaying" the casing.

(Message edited by taoistshredder on February 05, 2005)

#3 Guest_rodger_*

Guest_rodger_*

Posted 05 February 2005 - 10:01 AM

um, sorry but no.

Overlay is when the mycelium fully colonizes the casing layer. It is to be avoided. Usually, overlay is caused by using materials for the casing layer that are better suited as substrate. Material such as coir, worm castings, manure, etc., should NOT be used for the casing layer. These are prone to overlay.

#4 Guest_taoist_*

Guest_taoist_*

Posted 05 February 2005 - 10:05 AM

Really? If it's good growth then why is it to be avioded? If there's more myc on the surface of the casing I'd think it would pin better. Perhaps I need to readjust me knowledge of casings. lol I thought the point of a casing was to give the mycellium something to try and grow through so it will pin; is it more about moisture and air?

#5 trippinvegan

trippinvegan