• Please log in to reply
101 replies to this topic

#1 Localbuilder101

Localbuilder101

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 78 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 09:15 PM

I seen some where that the use of lime and bleach are good for around 2 wks before contamination takes over, true not true? Im going on a week and a half and it looks like with the growth that they have will be another 1 to 2 wks before collinized. They look healthy, just a little slow.
This is my first time working with straw and manure...:weedpoke:

#2 hyphaenation

hyphaenation

Former Staff

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 13,771 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 February 2010 - 09:34 PM

Pasteurization is what most/many do. Hot water bath 155 F for two hours or more , then drained , cooled and inoculated.

#3 AGAMA

AGAMA

Open Your Eyes And Realize That We Are One

• Site Administrator
  • 5,094 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 February 2010 - 09:42 PM

A little bleach in the straw "soak water" is fine, but where are you using lime?
Proper pasteurizing and cleanliness will make ALL the difference,IMHO.
Straw is only slightly quicker to contaminate for me.
And, BTW, 3-4 weeks colonizing times are not slow where I'm from!:eusa_clap
What strain are you working with?
How are you creating your colonized spawn(jars, bags, etc...), and what is your spawning material composed of?
Time spent in the Archives and Vaults is time well spent. You can learn alot from what works for others.:bow:
Just pick a tek and run with it!
Best of luck.
Keep us posted.:thumbup:

#4 kcmoxtractor

kcmoxtractor

Halloween Terror

• Honorary Former Staff
  • 6,810 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 24 February 2010 - 09:43 PM

I oven pasteurize, 200F for three and a half hours. Sub hydrated to slightly over field capacity to compensate for moisture loss.

Use a higher spawn ratio next time for quicker colonization. Try using 25-33% grain spawn in total volume of substrate.

#5 big_dreams

big_dreams

Mycophiliac