Paradox
©
Fisana

Photo
- - - - -

Morel bombs, Growing on ailanthus, lions mane propagation, and more questions...

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hobojordo

hobojordo

Mycophiliac

• Expired Member
  • 8 posts

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:37 PM

Hey everyone - just got out of my probationary period so i wanted to ask everyone a few questions i have to get started growing mushrooms and therby hopefully reduce a couple years if trial and error ))  Really look forward to hearing some answers and thoughts! Im new to all of this

1. Has anyone ever tried growing mushrooms on Ailanthus? (Tree of Heaven) ...It grows everywhere here in Virginia and would be an infinite supply of substrate...  I just plugged some logs with oyster, lions mane, and shitake so ill see...but id like to hear other's experience. 

2. Its mushrooms season and Morels are about to pop up! Any ideas on what i should do with them besides eat them? Is there a way i can make morel bombs or collect the spores and spread around the woods to hopefully make more morel spots?

3. LIONS MANE....i really want to grow alot of it )))   But i cant afford to buy it. So i would be really appreciative of any advice on how to propagate the next wild lions mane mushroom i find! (or one that might grow from my plugged log)  Will it work to just cut it up and put it in a jar with moist dowels??? or do i need to make some sort of a print and put the spores in a jar??   Im new to this please help!!! how do i simply make my own plug spawn?

4. My last big question for now is inoculating veggie oil...i dumpster dove a whiole bunch and now I want to get spores into it - so that i can go through the woods and saw some junk trees and kick start them into growing mushrooms...has anyone tried this? i know you can buy the premade stuff but i want to know how to do it myself...  

Well everyone, I appreciate the input and thought! looking forward to hearing from you all...

Jordan 

#2 TurkeyRanch

TurkeyRanch