#1 SteampunkScientist

SteampunkScientist

Distinguished Mad Scientist

• OG VIP
  • 2,395 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 15 October 2016 - 10:22 AM

I'm teaching myself Tarot reading but using the standard techniques combined with an American Indian type of method.

Basically American Indian shamans would take "bits and bones" in a small mat and "throw the bones", blow sacred smoke over it and go into a light trance state while divining the meaning of the throw.

What I'm working on is casting the cards on a similar mat (with symbols and sigils of meaning), blowing the smoke and then reading the cards in a similar manner. I do this to draw on my Irish and Cherokee heritage.

I'm interested in anyone who uses either or both of these reading methods as I'm just starting out. Need your knowledge and experience to help me along!

Thanks and blessings to you all!
  • wildedibles and gatekeeper like this

#2 Skywatcher

Skywatcher

Twilight Walker

• 4,908 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 16 October 2016 - 10:36 PM

I read a variety of divination cards at my circle meetings. The method however is to pull cards (I prefer three) and read them intuitivly before delving any deeper into the meanings. I often pull from several different decks.

My go to at home however is my rune set, that I made myself from Willow, White Alder, and White Birch. I made a blank but do not use it. I prefer to pull a specific number from a bag, and place them in the layout I pre decided. The question is held clearly in mind before and during the pulling of the runes.

Usually a 3 layout, but I also use a 5 layout. The runes are turned like pages in a book on a cloth I use, and with myself  facing north. These readings I am most comfortable with.