• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 CaseyJones

CaseyJones

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 12:16 PM

I remodel homes for a living and have gathered an abundance of old 5 gallon paint buckets. Would these be ok to use for oysters if I clean then extremely well? Just worried about the possibility of chemicals that might make me sick.

#2 Heirloom Spores

Heirloom Spores

I practice

• OG VIP
  • 3,148 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 21 November 2016 - 12:51 PM

I take it that your using Latex paint , indoor or oudoor? Do you know the ingredients of the paint?
That might help make a educated decision.

A great way is to use an old plastic laundry basket  or buy one at a dollar store like The Dollar Tree were everything is a dollar.

I have used buckets from drywall. I can't remember if I ever used old interior latex buckets.

Hopefully some one here knows. I wish you luck in all your grows.

#3 CaseyJones

CaseyJones

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 27 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 04:21 PM

Yeah all the buckets were interior latex paint. Not sure on the ingredients in the paint. I can tell you it was all Sherwin Williams paint. I wouldn't mind buying new buckets it just I have a ton of these laying around the shop and would like to put them to good use.

Edited by CaseyJones, 21 November 2016 - 04:23 PM.

#4 Heirloom Spores

Heirloom Spores

I practice

• OG VIP
  • 3,148 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 22 November 2016 - 11:55 AM

I did an internet search on interior latex and they say its listed as a non hazardous material.

Some paints contain a biocide to kill mold or mildew.

I can't give you an answer I trust. Buckets cost very little so I would just buy one.

How much do you plan on growing?

#5 CaseyJones

CaseyJones

Mycophiliac

• Free Member
  • 27 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 12:11 PM