#1 happy4nic8r

happy4nic8r

cyans rule!!

• OG VIP
  • 3,439 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 31 December 2016 - 09:33 PM

Okay I found this soccer ball sized growth alongside the road, and thought it was a giant puffball.

A few days later I was showing it to my gf and lifted it off its root and found that it was very heavy and solid. I took one photo against my foot for size reference, then sliced it open to see what was inside.

It looked and smelled more like a truffle than a puffball, but I'm no expert with either of these growths.

Any help with these? Taken in Dec. in Copperopolis. Ca.

truffballs1.jpg                           IMG_20161226_125319.jpg

#2 Skywatcher

Skywatcher

Twilight Walker

• 4,908 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 01 January 2017 - 12:44 PM

It certainly looks like a puffball. I have not seen any truffle that size. I have eaten the giant montana puffball on many occasions. They appear much whiter,and more "cauliflower" like in appearence, and the flesh is creamy white solid. The one in your pictur appears to be progressing into the internal "powder" phase, and seems darker around the outer edges. The puffballs I eat grow in California, at about 6,000 elev. The places I find them are deep shade under a combination of oak and pine, in thick leafmulch.

Very cool looking whatever it is!

• happy4nic8r likes this

#3 happy4nic8r

happy4nic8r

cyans rule!!

• OG VIP
  • 3,439 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 01 January 2017 - 12:56 PM

THIS WAS VERY SOLID, CREAMY AND REMINDED ME OF A SEMI COOKED CAULIFLOWER. 

HOW DO YOU PREPARE THEM? I WOULD DEFINITELY EAT THESE, NOT THESE PARTICULAR ONES, BUT THEY SMELLED AND TASTED GOOD!

#4 Skywatcher

Skywatcher

Twilight Walker

• 4,908 posts

Donator

Awards Bar:

Posted 01 January 2017 - 06:17 PM

HOW DO YOU PREPARE THEM? I WOULD DEFINITELY EAT THESE, NOT THESE PARTICULAR ONES, BUT THEY SMELLED AND TASTED GOOD!